04
Apr
07

Bootcamp 1.2 and Vista

So I upgraded a couple of days ago and thought I’d leave it a couple of days beofre I posted to see what issues if any there were. I’m happy to report everything seems good πŸ™‚

So I finally got round to upgrading my Firmware on my MacBook Pro – you need to do that for this version of BootCamp to run and I’m pleased to say this has removed one of the final niggles I had running Vista on my Mac. Sleep and Hibernate. There was an battle going on between the hardware sleep of the MacBook Pro when you close the lid and software sleep/hibernate of Vista – sleep was pretty much useless in earlier releases as you’d nearer always come back to a machine that was red hot and would take several attempts to coax the machine into waking the display again – that has now been resolved.

In terms of drivers – I like having the keyboard backlighting and auto dimming of the screen when ambiant light changes so again I’ve disabled the Apple keyboard drivers and installed the latest release of Input Remapper.

For instructions of how to disable the keyboard drivers in BootCamp 1.2 check out this forum post: http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=46869

To get the latest Input Remapper install and for a full feature list see Eriks site: http://www.olofsson.info/index.html?inputremapper.html

In terms of getting the drivers there is a handy new option in this release. When you run BootCamp under OSX go to the Utility menu and you can save the driver install package to your desktop. I then put this on a USB key – much quicker than burning a CD πŸ™‚

All in all – this release works like a charm. Bluetooth, Wireless, Apple Remote, Back lighting etc all work as advertised.

As Mark said a few days ago on his blog – this release of BootCamp has made me a happy man – and for me it was worth upgrading just to get rock solid sleep and hibernate πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Bootcamp 1.2 and Vista”


  1. May 8, 2007 at 6:19 am

    I recently got a Macbook Pro and installed Bootcamp 1.2 with Vista and every time I mess with the screen brightness, it reboots.

    You can’t believe how annoying this is but I can’t seem to find anyone else having this problem. Are you experiencing this or know of anyone that is. If so, do you know of a solution for this problem since this is REALLY annoying.

    Remapper 1.0.0.3 BSOD on me a few times so I decided not to use that.

  2. May 14, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Mmmm… sorry I’ve never seen this problem before. Did you try downloading the drivers again from Boot Camp? This is such an isolated issue it does sound like a corrupt driver or corrupt install.

    Sorry I can’t be more use with this. … if I hear anything on the grapevine I’ll post back.


Leave a Reply

