11
Jan
07

Running Vista RTM on MacBook Pro

I’ve been running Vista RTM on my MacBook Pro for around six weeks or so and over the weekend decided to do a machine rebuild, both OSX and Vista… which prompted me to jot down a few thoughts.

I’ve now taken the OSX partition as small as it will go, I was tempted to blow away the partition completely to gain the drive space but have decided to leave it there for the moment so I can easily test WPFe on OSX.

It was interesting installing both OS systems one after another, OS X took around 90 minutes to install from scratch.

Boot Camp and Vista again played well, I literally installed Boot Camp (about 3 minutes), popped in the Vista DVD and 3 or maybe it was 4 reboots, and 35 minutes later had a Vista RTM MacBook Pro.

Other than the time difference both set ups were easy and smooth. 

Once Vista was installed I added ‘Input Remapper’ to gain the CTRL, ALT, DEL key combination, keyboard backlighting and auto screen dimming. This can be downloaded from here..

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=34515  (version 1.0.0.1)

Next up was a trip to ATI to download the Vista RTM Cataylst Drivers everything else was left as standard. (http://www.ati.com)

As ever the iSight drivers install (from the Apple XP driver disk) but the camera isn’t picked up by any of the video software so I’ll guess we need to wait for a driver update from Apple for that one… and for the second time I haven’t installed the Bluetooth drivers… I’ve always found Bluetooth to be one of the most over rated technologies and after many hours of battling with Bluetooth previously on both OSX and XP I have decided it’s just not worth the hassle. Life’s too short!

And that’s the story so far. No surprises and no hicups as the machine has run like clock work so far.

Vista Ratings are:

Processor: 4.8
Memory: 4.9
Graphics: 4.1
Gaming graphics: 4.5
Primary Disk: 4.9

Apple make a great Vista PC.

2 Responses to “Running Vista RTM on MacBook Pro”


  1. February 5, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    So you were able to get full video support on a Radeon x1600?

    I have an iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon x1600 256MB. I’m going to try what you did to install Vista RTM.

    Did you get sounds to work, also?

  2. February 6, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Yes to both.

    I’ve been running with an extended desktop running an external monitor set to 1650 x 1050 with my PBPro set to native 1440 x 900 – no problems at all 🙂

    On the sound front I’ve had different experiences, on one machine I needed to extract the drivers from the Boot Camp install, on another it picked up the audio straight away. But sound is working great with no issues.


Leave a Reply

